Uttarakhand District List 2022 – New Proposed Districts List

Uttarakhand District List 2022 –  New Proposed Districts List  – Uttarakhand is located at a latitude of 28°43’N to 31°27′ N in the north of India. Uttarakhand is a hill state which was formed after its separation from Uttar Pradesh on 9 November 2000. Uttarakhand shares a border with Himachal Pradesh in the north-west and Uttar Pradesh in the south. Uttarakhand also shares border with China (Tibet) in the north and Nepal in the east.

  • Uttarakhand is spread over a geographical area of 53,483 square kilometres 
  • It 1.6% of the total geographical area of the country. 
  • The capital of Uttarakhand is Gairsain in summer and Dehradun in winter. 
  • The population of Uttarakhand is 10,086,292 with 79.63%. 
  • Uttarakhand has 13 districts comprising 16,793 villages and 115 towns.

Uttarakhand, formerly Uttaranchal, the state of India, is located in the north-western part of the country. It is surrounded by the Indian state of Himachal Pradesh in the north-west, The Tibet Autonomous Region of China in the north-east, Nepal in the southeast and the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh in the south and south-west. Its capital is the north-western city of Dehradun.

  • On November 9, 2000, the state of Uttaranchal—the 27th state of India—was carved out of Uttar Pradesh.
  • In January 2007 the new state changed its name to Uttarakhand, meaning “northern region,” which was the traditional name for the area.
  • Uttarakhand Area 19,739 square miles (51,125 square km). Pop. (2011) 10,116,752.

Uttarakhand District List

Uttarakhand District List 2022 –  New Proposed Districts List

State Name Uttarakhand
Formation Date 9 November 2000
Capital Gairsain (in Summer)
Dehradun (in Winter)
Area 53,483 sq.km
Population 10,086,292
Male- 5,137,773
Female – 4,948,519
Number of Districts 13
Governor Gurmit Singh
Chief Minster Pushkar Singh Dhami
Symbols of Uttarakhand
  • State Bird – Himalayan Monal
  • State Animal – Alpine Musk Deer
  • State Flower – Brahma Kamal
  • State Tree – Burans
  • State Sport – Football
  • State Instrument – Dhol
  • State Official Language- Hindi
Official Website uk.gov.in
Category  Sarkari List, Uttarakhand List
Uttarakhand Proposed District List
  1. Didihat
  2. Kotdwar
  3. Ranikhet
  4. Yamunotri

Districts List : 

Name of District Area Division Population
Almora 3,083 Kumaon 621,972
Bageshwar 2,302 Kumaon 259,840
Chamoli 8,030 Garhwal 391,114
Champawat 1,781 Kumaon 259,315
Dehradun 3,088 Garhwal 1,695,860
Haridwar 2,360 Garhwal 1,927,029
Nainital 3,860 Kumaon 955,128
Pauri Garhwal 5,399 Garhwal 686,572
Pithoragarh 7,100 Kumaon 485,993
Rudraprayag 1,890 Garhwal 236,857
Tehri Garhwal 4,080 Garhwal 616,409
Udham Singh Nagar 2,908 Kumaon 1,648,367
Uttarkashi 8,016 Garhwal 329,686

Demand for New districts in Uttarakhand : 

  • Kashipur, from Udham Singh Nagar district
  • Rishikesh, from Dehradun district
  • Tehri Garhwal district
  • Pauri Garhwal district
  • Chakrata, from Dehradun district
  • Dharchula, from Pithoragarh district
  • Dharchula, from Pithoragarh district
  • Ramnagar, from Nainital district
  • Haldwani, from Nainital district
  • Roorkee, from Haridwar district
  • Gairsain, from Chamoli district
Capital Dehradun (God’s Land – Dev Bhoomi) (In 2007, Uttaranchal was renamed as Uttarakhand)
Date of Formation 09, November 2000
International Borders China (Tibet), Nepal
State Borders Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh
Char-Dhams Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri, Yamunotri
State Animal Himalayan Musk deer
State Flower Brahm Kamal
State Tree Burans
State Bird Himalayan Monal
Language Gharwali, Kumaoni, Hindi
Official language Hindi (Primary), Sanskrit (Secondary)
No. of Districts 13
Minerals Limestone, Marble, Rock Phosphate, Dolomite, Magnesite, Copper, Gypsum
Crops Rice, Wheat, Arley, Jowar, Oilseed
Rivers Ganga, Yamuna, Kali, Ramganga, Ton
Waterfalls Corbett, Jharipani, Vasudhara, Kempty, Sahastradhara, Birthi, Tiger fall
Festivals Nanda Devi Mela, Devidhura Mela, Purangiri Mela
Dance & Music Garhwali folk dance and music
Art & Crafts Kholi woodcarving, Aipan, Rangoli
Tourist place Nainital, Nanda Devi Park, Almora Valley of Flower
National Park
  • Corbett National Park
  • Gangotri National Park
  • Nanda Devi National Park
  • Rajaji National Park
  • Valley of Flowers National Park
  • Govind National Park
Wildlife Sanctuary Govind wildlife sanctuary, Kedarnath wildlife sanctuary
Mountains Nanda Devi, Panchchuli, Trishul, Bhagirathi, Neelkanth, Gaumukh, Chaukhamba

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top