Uttarakhand Chief Ministers List 2000 to 2022 Pdf Download | Latest List

Uttarakhand Chief Ministers List 2000 to 2022 Pdf Download | Latest Updated – The Chief Minister of Uttarakhand is the Chief Executive Officer of the Indian state of Uttarakhand. According to the Constitution of India, the Governor is the legal head of a state, but the real executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. After assembly elections, the governor of the state usually invites the majority party (or coalition) to form the government.

The Chief Minister is the head of the party elected by the people as well as the elected state government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible for the Assembly. The complete list of Chief Ministers of Uttarakhand is given below. List Of Most Polluted City In India PDF Download 2022 | Latest Updated

Uttarakhand Chief Ministers List

Appointment: Uttarakhand Chief Ministers List

    • Article 164 of the Constitution envisages that the Chief Minister shall be appointed by the governor.
      • A leader of the party that has got the majority share of votes in the assembly elections, is appointed as the Chief Minister of the state.
      • The Governor is the nominal executive authority, but real executive authority rests with the Chief Minister.
      • However, the discretionary powers enjoyed by the governor reduces to some extent the power, authority, influence, prestige and role of the Chief Minister in the state administration.
    • A person who is not a member of the state legislature can be appointed as Chief Minister for six months, within which time, he should be elected to the state legislature, failing which he ceases to be the Chief Minister.
    • IPL 2022 Schedule Pdf Download | Time Table, New Teams, Ranking

Term of the CM:

    • The term of the Chief Minister is not fixed and he holds office during the pleasure of the governor.
      • He cannot be dismissed by the governor as long as he enjoys the majority support in the legislative assembly.
    • The State Legislative Assembly can also remove him by passing a vote of no-confidence against him.

Powers and Functions:

With Respect to Council of Ministers:
      • The governor appoints only those persons as ministers who are recommended by the Chief Minister.
      • He allocates and reshuffles the portfolios among ministers.
      • He can bring about the collapse of the council of ministers by resigning from office, since the Chief Minister is the head of the council of ministers.
With Respect to Governor:
      • Under Article 167 of the Constitution, the Chief Minister acts as a link between the Governor and state council of ministers.
      • CM advises the Governor regarding the appointment of important officials like advocate general, chairman and members of the State Public Service Commission, State Election Commission, etc.
With Respect to State Legislature:
      • All the policies are announced by him on the floor of the house.
      • He recommends dissolution of legislative assembly to the Governor.
Other Functions:
      • He is the chairman of the State Planning Board.
      • He acts as a vice-chairman of the concerned zonal council by rotation, holding office for a period of one year at a time.
      • He is a member of the Inter-State Council and the Governing Council of NITI Aayog, both headed by the prime minister.
      • He is the chief spokesman of the state government.
      • He is the crisis manager-in-chief at the political level during emergencies.
      • As a leader of the state, he meets various sections of the people and receives memoranda from them regarding their problems, and so on.
      • He is the political head of the services.

Uttarakhand CM List 2022 : Latest Updated

Name of Uttarakhand CM From To Party
Nityanand Swami Nov 9, 2000 Oct 29, 2001 BJP
Bhagat Singh Koshiyari Oct 30, 2001 Mar 1, 2002 BJP
N. D. Tiwari Mar 2, 2002 Mar 7, 2007 INC
B. C. Khanduri Mar 8, 2007 Jun 23, 2009 BJP
Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank Jun 24, 2009 Sep 10, 2011 BJP
B. C. Khanduri Sep 11, 2011 Mar 13, 2012 BJP
Vijay Bahuguna Mar 13, 2012 Jan 31, 2014 INC
Harish Rawat Feb 1, 2014 Mar 27, 2016 INC
(President’s rule) Mar 27, 2016 April 21, 2016 N/A
Harish Rawat April 21, 2016 April 22, 2016 INC
(President’s rule) April 22, 2016 May 11, 2016 N/A
Harish Rawat May 11, 2016 18 March, 2017 INC
Trivendra Singh Rawat 18 March, 2017 10 March, 2021 BJP
Triath Singh Rawat 10 March, 2021 4 July, 2021 BJP
Pushkar Singh Dhami 4 July, 2021 Incumbent BJP

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top