Param Vir Chakra Winners List 2022 – All 21 Recipients List

Param Vir Chakra Winners List 2022 – All 21 Recipients List – The Param Vir Chakra is the Indian supreme military decoration, which is provided to display specific acts of valour or show great courage in the face of danger during war. Param Vir Chakra is translated as “wheel of the last brave” and this award is given for the most conspicuous bravery in the presence of the enemy. The Param Vir Chakra was designed by Eva Yuon Linda Maede-de-Maros, the design of the Param Vir Chakra includes the purple ribbon and the motif of Sage Dadhichi, it has four replicas of Indra’s Vajra made from the bones of Dadhichi, representing his supreme sacrifice, which is at the national level.

Param Vir Chakra is the highest wartime gallantry medal for the highest gallantry on land, at sea or in the air, in the presence of an enemy, in the presence of an enemy, for officers and other listed personnel of all the military branches of India. The medal was introduced in January 1950 and was effective from August 15, 1947. It is made of bronze. It can be awarded posthumously. The Param Vir Chakra is the equivalent award of the Victoria Cross in the United Kingdom and the Medal of Honour in the United States.

Param Vir Chakra Winners List
Param Vir Chakra Winners List

Param Vir Chakra Winners List 2022 – All 21 Recipients List

Name of Recipient Rank Unit Date of action
Somnath Sharma Major Kumaon Regiment 3 November 1947
Jadunath Singh Naik Rajput Regiment 6 February 1948
Rama Raghoba Rane Second Lieutenant Bombay Sappers 8 April 1948
Piru Singh Company Havildar Major Rajputana Rifles 17 July 1948
Karam Singh Lance Naik Sikh Regiment 13 October 1948
Gurbachan Singh Salaria Captain 1 Gorkha Rifles 5 December 1961
Dhan Singh Thapa Major 8 Gorkha Rifles 20 October 1962
Joginder Singh Subedar Sikh Regiment 23 October 1962
Shaitan Singh Major Kumaon Regiment 18 November 1962
Abdul Hamid Company Quarter Master Havildar The Grenadiers 10 September 1965
Ardeshir Tarapore Lieutenant Colonel Poona Horse 11 September 1965
Albert Ekka Lance Naik Brigade of the Guards 3 December 1971
Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon Flying Officer No. 18 Squadron IAF 14 December 1971
Arun Khetarpal Second Lieutenant Poona Horse 16 December 1971
Hoshiar Singh Dahiya Major The Grenadiers 17 December 1971
Bana Singh Naib Subedar Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry 23 May 1987
Ramaswamy Parameshwaran Major Mahar Regiment 25 November 1987
Manoj Kumar Pandey Lieutenant 11 Gorkha Rifles 3 July 1999
Yogendra Singh Yadav Grenadier The Grenadiers 4 July 1999
Sanjay Kumar Rifleman Jammu and Kashmir Rifles 5 July 1999
Vikram Batra Captain Jammu and Kashmir Rifles 7 July 1999

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top