Major National Sports Awards in India Pdf – Top 5 Awards Highest Order

Major National Sports Awards in India Pdf – Top 5 Awards Highest Order -Here On We are providing you The Latest Major Sports Awards For Exam Preparation . You can Check All Awards Details In Table Given below

National Sports Policy

National Sports Policy In order to broad base sports and to promote excellence, government has formulated a New National Sports Policy 2001. The salient features of the New National Sports Policy are

  •  broad basing of sports and achievement of excellence.
  • upgradations and development of infrastructure.
  • support to the national sports federations and other appropriate bodies.
  • strengthening of scientific and coaching support to sports.
  • incentives to sports persons
  • enhanced participation of women, scheduled tribes and rural youth
  • involvement of the corporate sector in sports promotion and promote sports-mindedness among the public at large.

Major National Sports Awards in India Pdf - Top 5 Awards Highest Order

Major National Sports Awards in India Pdf – Top 5 Awards Highest Order

Awards  Details 
Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award
  • The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, officially known as Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in Sports and Games, is thehighest sporting honour of the Republic of India.
  • The award is named after Rajiv Gandhi, former Prime Minister of India who served the office from 1984 to 1989.
  • It is awarded annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.
  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Launched in 1991 to 1992, the cash award of Rs 7.5 lakh for honouring the outstanding sportsperson in a year for his/her achievement in sports.
  • The first recipient of the award was Vishwanathan Anand in 1991-1992.
  • Karnam Malleswari was the first woman who was conferred Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna for weightlifting in the year 1994-1995.
  • Pankaj Advani is the only player to receive this award for two different games- Snookers and Billiards.
Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy
  •  Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy A rolling trophy-cash award of Rs 10 lakh (1st)Rs 5 lakh (2nd)Rs 3 lakh (3rd position)-to top overall performing university in the inter-university tournaments.
  • It is  the highest Inter-University National sports trophy
Dhyan Chand Award
  •  Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievements in Sports and Games Instituted in the year 2002, thecash prize of Rs 5 lakh, 3 awards presented each year to honour those sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and continue to contribute to the promotion of sports even after their retirement from the active sporting career.
  • It is awarded annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports
Arjuna Award
  • Arjuna Award Instituted in 1961 a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh with a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.
  • The sports person should have not only performed consistently well for the previous 3 years at international level with excellence for that year for which the award is recommended but also shown qualities of leadership sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.
  • From 2001, the award will be given only in disciplines falling under following categories: (i) Olympic Games/Asian Games/Commonwealth Games, World Cup/World Championship disciplines and cricket; (ii) indigenous games; (iii) sports for physically challenged. Arjuna Award was first presented to six people in 1961.
  • Meena Shah (Badminton) was the first woman to get this award in 1962. 
  • Krishna Das was the first recipient of Arjuna Award in the field of Archery in 1961.
Dronacharya Awards
  • Dronacharya Award Instituted in 1985, honours eminent coaches who successfully trained sports persons and teams enabling them to achieve outstanding results in international competitions.
  • They are given a cash award of Rs 5 lakh, a statuette of Guru Dronacharya, a scroll of honour and a ceremonial dress.
  • Bhalachandra Bhaskar Bhagwat (Wrestling), Om Prakash Bhardwaj (Boxing), O.
  • M. Nambiar (Athletics) were the first recipients of the award who were honoured in 1985.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top