List of Vice-Presidents of India and their Term of Office (1952-2022)

List of Vice-Presidents of India and their Term of Office (1952-2022) – The 2022 Vice-Presidential Elections to elect the 14th Vice President of India are scheduled to be held on August 6, 2022. The announcement regarding the elections was made by the Election Commission of India. The winner of the 2022 Vice-Presidential Election will replace incumbent Vice President Venkaiah Naidu. The BJP, which is also a ruling party, nominated Jagdeep Dhankhar as the vice presidential candidate on July 16, 2022, while Margaret Alva was nominated as the opposition candidate for vice-president on July 17.

  • The Vice President of India is the second highest constitutional office of the Government of India and is the ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.
  • The Vice-President is elected by the members of an electoral college consisting of members of both houses of Parliament and the State Legislature has no role to play in this election.
  • M Venkaiah Naidu is the current Vice President of India who assumed office on 11 August 2017.
  • List Of Indian National Congress Sessions & Their Presidents
List of Vice-Presidents of India and their Term of Office (1952-2022)
List of Vice-Presidents of India and their Term of Office

List of Vice-Presidents of India and their Term of Office (1952-2022)

 S. No.
Tenure (From) Tenure (To)
 1  Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan  13 May 1952 12 May 1962 Dr. Rajendra Prasad
 2  Dr. Zakir Hussain  13 May 1962 12 May 1967 Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
 3 Varahagiri Venkata Giri  13 May 1967 20 July 1969 Dr. Zakir Hussain
 4 Gopal Swarup Pathak 31 August 1969 30 August 1974 V. V. Giri
Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
 5  Basappa Danappa Jatti 31 August 1974  30 August 1979 Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
 6  Justice Muhammad Hidayatullah  31 August 1979  30 August 1984 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
Giani Zail Singh
 7  Ramaswamy Venkataraman  31 August 1984 24 July 1987 Giani Zail Singh
 8  Shankar Dayal Sharma  7 September 1987 24 July 1992 Ramaswamy Venkataraman
 9  Kocheril Raman Narayanan  21 August 1992 24 July 1997 Shankar Dayal Sharma
 10  Krishan Kant  21 August 1997 27 July 2002 Kocheril Raman Narayanan
A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
 11  Bhairon Singh Shekhawat  19 August 2002 21 July 2007 A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
 12 Mohammad Hamid Ansari  11 August 2007 10 August 2017 Pratibha Patil
Pranab Mukherjee
Ram Nath Kovind
 13 M Venkaiah Naidu 11 August 2017 August 2022 Ram Nath Kovind
14 Jagdeep Dhankhar Auguast 2022 Current Draupadi Murmu

Qualifications for Vice-President of India:

  • He must be a citizen of India.
  • He should not be less than 35 years.
  • He must be eligible for election as a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • He must not be a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • He should not hold any office of profit.

Term of Office:

  • Vice-President is elected for 5 years and is eligible for immediate re-election.

However, he can be terminated before his tenure through these methods:

  • Resignation to be addressed to the President
  • Removal- by a resolution of the council of states passed by the majority of its members and agreed to by the Lok Sabha.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top